Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Last chance to vote...

Dear subscribers,

Forgotten to post your ballot? Keep meaning to but then just keep forgetting to get round to it? Fear not - it happens to the best of us, and there’s still time!

It’s not (quite) too late to vote in the 2023 round of UCU officer and NEC elections. Ballots close at noon on Wednesday 1st March, so today (Friday) is the last safe posting date.

You’re not alone in this either. One of the UCU Commons crowd, Helen, has a reputation for posting her ballot at the last minute:

“Sometimes I keep putting it off; it sits there on my desk and gets buried under other post and general mess. Other times I fill it in straight away, put it in my bag and no matter how many post-boxes I walk past on the way to and from work, I forget to post it.”

She also admits to not posting ballots in the past:

“I’ve been a UCU member since 2006 and I admit that for about the first ten years of being a member, I didn’t bother voting in officer/NEC elections because I didn’t realise how important it was. I didn’t know the role of the officers and NEC in key decision-making, and I didn’t really know how to distinguish between candidates.”

Sadly, that’s not unusual: as mentioned in today’s video, featuring UCU Commons member Jo Edge, typically 8-12% of members cast ballots in officer/NEC elections. This year, we were relieved to see a photo of Helen posting her ballot yesterday (and of course, she voted for the UCU Commons slate).

A final tip: if you also forget to post it today (Friday), then stick a first-class stamp on it and post it on Saturday/Monday. If you cannot afford a first-class stamp, please don’t let that put you off - email us at ucucommons@gmail.com and we’ll sort it.

Now get voting!

In solidarity,

UCU Commons

UCU Commons Updates
UCU Commons Updates
Authors
UCU Commons